• Happy New Year

The grades used by Tajima School of Ju Jitsu are:

  • White
  • Yellow
  • Orange
  • Green
  • Blue
  • Brown
  • Black

For junior grades only, the system of ‘stripes’ is used; this means that students receive recognition in-between grades, and helps to motivate them towards their next belt.

Black belt grades are:

  • 1st Dan – Shodan
  • 2nd Dan – Nidan
  • 3rd Dan – Sandan
  • 4th Dan – Yondan
  • 5th Dan – Godan
  • 6th Dan – Rokudan
  • 7th Dan – Sichidan
  • 8th Dan – Hachidan
  • 9th Dan – Kudan
  • 10th Dan – Judan

Other titles you will hear within the Yudansha Ju Jitsu Kai are:

  • Sempai (Senior) – this refers to the senior student on the mat.
  • Sensei (Teacher) – literally translated as ‘one who went before me’.
  • Shihan (Master Instructor, or Teacher of Teachers) – This title is used for instructors who have mastered the art of Ju Jitsu in its entirety.
  • Renshi (Polished Teacher) – Currently, this title is reserved for the head of the Yudansha Ju Jitsu Kai. It is a ‘shogo title’, which is awarded in recognition of excellent teaching ability and is the only shogo title in use.